Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I am warmed and humbled by readers who have taken a chance on Memory Lake.  Thank you for spreading the word, for purchasing a paperback or e-book, for borrowing it from your library, or lending it to a friend.

Some statistics:  “411,422 books were published in the U.S. in 2007.  1,052,803 books were published in the U.S. 2009.  Approximately 3,000,000 books were published in the U.S. in 2011.*   Titles for 2012 will probably exceed 15 million.  Almost 80% of these titles sold fewer than 100 copies. **

"Books-a-Million" display

“Books-a-Million” display

Admittedly, promotion has been tough.  But, I’m not in it for the money.  I’m in it for the message.  I believe in Memory Lake.  Thank you for believing in it as well, because paperback sales alone surpassed 1,000 copies at summer’s end, and continue. 

Memory Lake took seven years of my life to write and edit.  Every word was carefully chosen and later verified by Harvard and Notre Dame PhD’s.  The novel’s message was officially stamped ‘Inspirational’ by Next Generation Indie Award judges in June.  Each morning of those seven years of writing, before turning on my computer, I would pray, “Lord, let me do thy will. Let me be a vessel for your message.”  (Yes, I really do use ‘thy’ when praying because I love the classics, and no, I am not a preacher.)  I simply set out to tell an uplifting story, amid so many to the contrary, and to clarify those life lessons which I needed to relearn.  I took a chance that many of you needed to relearn them too, though not through a boring biography, or self-help textbook, but through a novel’s highly descriptive immersion into youth; into a time when we knew these truths most effortlessly.

As one reader wrote, “Certainly overcoming fear is not a new concept, but it bears repeating and you have done so quite beautifully. Thank you for reminding me of this at a time when I need to remember it most.”   No, thank you dear readers for reminding me at a time when I need it most.  Promotion for Memory Lake will continue in 2013 because you have reminded me it is worth promoting.

A lovely sight to see on September 16, 2012 (Memory Lake’s Amazon Kindle ranking):

Source blogs:

http://ptbertram.wordpress.com/2012/04/17/how-many-books-are-going-to-be-published-in-2012-prepare-for-a-shock/

**  http://www.fool.com/investing/general/2011/10/14/amazon-gets-back-to-its-roots.aspx#.UFSqNY1lSuQ